Brief History of the Department of Educational Psychology & Counselling

The Department of Educational Psychology and Counselling, Faculty of Education, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, is one of the four new departments created out of the former Department of Education. The Academic Planning Committee at its 107th meeting held on 18th October, 2007 considered and recommended the creation of the new department. Consequently, the Directorate of Academic Planning and Monitoring presented the recommendation to the 410th meeting of the Senate for its approval.

The University Senate approved the creation of the Department with effect from the 2008/2009 session. On the 18th July, 2008, Professor Musa Balarabe was appointed as the Coordinator for the new Department.

The National Universities Commission carried out a Resource Verification Visit and approved the new Department in early 2011. Professor Musa Balarabe was appointed the acting Head of the new Department on 8th July, 2011. The department has three sections, they are as follows:

1. Educational Psychology Section;
2. Guidance and Counselling Section; and,
3. Measurement and Evaluation Section.